I loved you first by Christina Rossetti

I loved you first: but afterwards your love
    Outsoaring mine, sang such a loftier song
As drowned the friendly cooings of my dove.
    Which owes the other most? my love was long,
    And yours one moment seemed to wax more strong;
I loved and guessed at you, you construed me
And loved me for what might or might not be –
    Nay, weights and measures do us both a wrong.
For verily love knows not ‘mine’ or ‘thine;’
    With separate ‘I’ and ‘thou’ free love has done,
         For one is both and both are one in love:
Rich love knows nought of ‘thine that is not mine;’
         Both have the strength and both the length thereof,
Both of us, of the love which makes us one.

Christina Rossetti
1830–1894

About russellboyle.com

Russell Boyle, of russellboyle.com, is a mathematics teacher, writer, and poet. Russell is the author of a number of teaching resources, including the Year 7 to 8 Mathematics Short-Answer Tasks, the Year 7 to 10 Mathematics Multiple-Choice Tasks, the Year 9 Extended-Response Tasks, the solutions to the Year 12 VCAA Mathematics Exams and the Web-Programming For Beginners series of courses. Russell's poetry anthologies are titled The Beginning, Footprints and Loneliness.
This entry was posted in Rossetti Christina and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I loved you first by Christina Rossetti

  1. Aquileana says:

    Such a beautiful choice here, Russell…

    My favorite verses are:

    “For verily love knows not ‘mine’ or ‘thine/ With separate ‘I’ and ‘thou’ free love has done/ For one is both and both are one in love”.

    Thanks for sharing and I am wishing you have a great weekened;

    Aquileana 🙂

    https://twitter.com/russellboyle/status/391701999458467840

Leave a Reply

