Friday Morning by Sydney Carter

It was on a Friday morning that they took me from the cell
and I saw they had a carpenter to crucify as well.
You can blame it on to Pilate, you can blame it on the Jews,
You can blame it on the Devil, it’s God I accuse.

You can blame it on to Adam, you can blame it on to Eve,
You can blame it on the apple, but that I can’t believe
It was God that made the Devil and the woman and the man,
And there wouldn’t be an apple if it wasn’t in the plan.

Now Barabbas was a killer and they let Barabbas go.
But you are being crucified for nothing that I know
But your God is up in heaven and He doesn’t do a thing
With a million angels watching, and they never move a wing.

It’s God they ought to crucify instead of you and me
I said to the carpenter, a-hanging on the tree.

To hell with Jehovah, to the carpenter I said.
I wish that a carpenter had made the world instead.
Goodbye and good luck to you, our ways will soon divide,
Remember me in heaven, as the man you hung beside.

Sydney Carter

About russellboyle

Russell Boyle is a Melbourne based Australian poet. His poetry anthologies are titled The Beginning, Footprints and Loneliness. To order an anthology, please visit http://russellboyle.com/orders.html
This entry was posted in Carter Sydney and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Morning by Sydney Carter

Leave a Reply

